Cape Motorsports Expands into Pro Mazda; Neil Alberico Signed
 December 7, 2013| 
  • Team News
ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing is pleased to announce the team will compete in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires in 2014. Neil Alberico has been signed to race in the series, which is the second official step on the Mazda Road to Indy.

Alberico, 21, drove for Cape Motorsports in 2013 and battled throughout the season for the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda title with teammate Scott Hargrove. In the end, Alberico finished second with six wins.

“I am very excited to be apart of this exciting new venture with Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing,” the young Californian driver said.  "I think keeping the team together is a huge advantage as a rookie going into this season. It should be another fun year of racing with the boys.”

Cape Motorsports is the defending USF2000 team champion. With the expansion into Pro Mazda, the team is now able to give young drivers an opportunity to move up the ladder on the way to the IndyCar Series.

“We view this as a natural progression for the team,” said team owners Dominic and Nicholas Cape. “We believe in the Road to Indy program, and we are excited to be competing in Pro Mazda. Neil is a great driver, and we couldn't be happier to continue to work with him and help him develop his skills."

The team will be on track December 9-10 for the Chris Griffis Memorial Mazda Road to Indy Open Test at Barber Motorsports Park.

About Cape Motorsports: Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing was formed in 2010 as a partnership between two successful racing entities. With leadership from brothers Nicholas and Dominic Cape, and along with Wayne Taylor and his organization in Indianapolis, the team campaigns cars in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires, the Cooper Tires Presents the USF2000 National Championship Powered by Mazda and the F1600 Formula F Championship Series. For more information, please visit You can follow the team on Facebook and Twitter (CMwithWTR) for updates.
  • RTI S4 R2 Race 2 - Final laps of Race 2 de Tullio attacks Andersson and Green
    • Series News
  • Banner 1
    • Series News
  • Braden
    • Team News
  • Wyatt
    • Team News
  • S4R1 Race 1 Winner Alessandro de Tullio
    • Series News