Road to Indy
  • IP2K RA R1 2021
    • Series News
  • Gavin-RdAm-061721-GB-14720S
    • Series News
  • Gavin-RdAm-061721-GB-14764S
    • Team News
  • 8301dc8b-4908-ff1f-ca36-2481cc53f0ff (1200x462)
    • Team News
  • IP2 Banner
    • Series News


[Visit RoadToIndy.Info for a full overview of the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires.]

What do Scott Dixon, Colton Herta, James Hinchcliffe, Tony Kanaan, Josef Newgarden and Spencer Pigot have in common? All are graduates of series comprising the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires – one of the most successful driver development programs in the world, providing a unique, scholarship-funded path to reach the NTT INDYCAR SERIES and Indianapolis 500.

Since its launch in 2010, the Road to Indy ladder system has attracted competitors from around the globe. Drivers from Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Korea, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Venezuela and Zimbabwe have been part of the grids, showcasing their talents at premier venues on a mix of road courses, temporary street circuits and ovals.

From the wide open expanses of Road America to the famed Brickyard – the Indianapolis Motor Speedway – drivers compete on the NTT INDYCAR SERIES stage in front of large crowds and television cameras as well as team owners, sponsors and media.

Sanctioned by INDYCAR, the Road to Indy provides drivers, teams and sponsors an opportunity to gain valuable experience on and off the track while following a clear-cut path of progression through three development series: Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship, the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires.

Oliver Askew, the 2019 Indy Lights champion, is the latest driver to exemplify the success of the Road to Indy platform. Askew, 22, from Jupiter, Fla., has made a meteoric progression from karting to Indy cars inside four years after earning the inaugural Mazda Road to Indy $200K USF2000 Scholarship Shootout in 2016 and the following year’s USF2000 title. He collected his third Road to Indy scholarship with the Indy Lights champion's crown and will be on the NTT IndyCar Series grid in 2020.


  • Drivers begin on the Road to Indy in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship, a revival of the highly regarded USF2000 series which ran from 1990 through 2006. The goal of the series is to provide a professional, entry-level open-wheel training ground serving as the first step on the ladder to an NTT INDYCAR SERIES career.
  • From there, drivers move on to the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires, formerly known as the Star Mazda Championship then the Pro Mazda Championship, which has developed NTT INDYCAR SERIES stars Marco Andretti, James Hinchcliffe, Graham Rahal and Spencer Pigot and rising stars such as Oliver Askew and Rinus VeeKay.
  • From Indy Pro 2000, drivers move into Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires. Indy Lights has long been a vital step for competitors to reach the pinnacle of open-wheel racing in America, boasting over 100 drivers as graduates.

“For so many years, there were too many options in junior formula racing and it was so tough for drivers coming up to make the right decision on where to run,” said James Hinchcliffe, NTT INDYCAR SERIES race winner, 2011 IndyCar Series Rookie of the Year and Indy Lights/Indy Pro 2000 graduate.

“Now, not only is there a clearly defined path, but the Road to Indy has all the best series that lead so well into one another. All the cars are great learning tools to develop for the next step and now you’ll see drivers arriving at each level a lot more prepared. It speaks volumes to INDYCAR’s commitment to the long term health of open-wheel racing in North America that they have created this system.”