Team Pelfrey Pro Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis Recap
 May 17, 2016| 
  • Team News
Indianapolis, Ind. – Team Pelfrey’s Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires team of Pato O’Ward and Aaron Telitz enjoyed another successful and record breaking weekend on the road course at the historic Indianapolis Motor Speedway. For Telitz, it was his second visit to the Speedway in his No. 82 Rice Lake Weighing Systems-Team Pelfrey Mazda, after finishing on the podium in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda in 2015. O’Ward was looking to capitalize on his early season success to maintain his position at the top of the driver points standings.
After consistently finishing practice sessions at the top of the charts, the teammates were poised to make an impact on the 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course in qualifying.
During the 30-minute session, Pato O’Ward set a new track record with a lap time of 1 minute 22.88, clinching pole position and etching himself in the Indianapolis Motor Speedway record books. The Birchwood,Wisc. -native, Telitz, qualified in second position with a lap time of 1 minute 23.30, setting up an all Team Pelfrey front row.
In Race One, O’Ward got off to a clean start heading into the crucial turns 1-4 complex, gapping the field by almost a full second going into turn 7. Telitz battled for second place with Will Owen, before locking up the brakes in turn 7 and going off course, falling all the way back to 9th place. O’Ward held the lead and built over a six-second gap over Owen, leading every lap of the 40-minute race. Telitz managed to finish the race in 7th place. With the win, O’Ward became the youngest driver to win on the road course at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway at 17 years old and 7 days.
In Race Two, both drivers started in first and second again. O’Ward made another great start in his No. 80 Gap Guard-Team Pelfrey powered Mazda, with teammate Telitz in his rear-view mirror. The Pelfrey duo gapped the field by over 20 seconds on their way to the team’s fifth 1-2 finish of the 2016 season. With another dominant weekend in the books, O’Ward stretched his lead in the points championship by 39 points over second place, teammate Aaron Telitz.
The team's next race will be the Carb Night Classic at Lucas Oil Raceway, May 27th. Pro Mazda qualifications begin at 4:30 p.m. EST, with the 90 lap race will beginning at 7:10 p.m. You can follow the action on, or on Team Pelfrey’s social media channels.
  • 1200x450-v2
    • Series News
  • IP2K banner COTA
    • Series News
  • IP2K COTA Banner 2020 e
    • Series News
  • Catching Up Dempsey 2020
    • Series News
  • RTIeSeries Race One Banner
    • Series News