Cape Motorsports Barber Motorsports Park Recap
 May 1, 2015| 
  • Team News

Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing picked up another win in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires during this past weekend’s Mazda Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park, April 24-26.

In Race 1, Cape drivers Neil Alberico, Florian Latorre and Daniel Burkett qualified fifth, ninth and 11th respectfully on the 2.3-mile, 17-turn road course in Birmingham, Alabama.

After full-course cautions slowed the opening five laps of the 30-minute race, all three drivers did their best to improve after a tough qualifying session. Alberico, in the No. 3, battled early to move up to fourth. His performance earned him the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award.   2014 USF2000 Champion Latorre, in the No. 10, and Burkett, driving the No. 2, each gained a position finishing eighth and 10th.

In Race 2, Alberico, Latorre and Burkett started fourth, ninth and 12th respectfully. Alberico was able to capitalize on contact by the leaders in the opening lap and worked his way to the front. He was able to hold-off the field during restarts later in the race.

Latorre was able to run a clean race and gain positions. He picked up four positions to finish fifth, and after a incident coming onto the front straight and a visit to the pits under yellow, Burkett drove a great race finishing 10th.                      

“What a great ending to the weekend,” said team owners Dominic and Nicholas Cape. “After struggling a bit in qualifying and practice, we were able to turn it around. Kudos to our drivers and team for a great weekend.”

The team will head to the Grand Prix of Indianapolis, a triple-header on May 7-9. The event will include an additional race to make up for Race 2 at NOLA Motorsports Park, which had been postponed due to adverse weather conditions.

In addition to Pro Mazda, it was a great weekend for the Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing drivers and alumni. At Barber Motorsports Park, Nico Jamin and Aaron Telitz each picked up a victory in USF2000, Spencer Pigot took the checkered in both IndyLights races and Josef Newgarden won the Verizon IndyCar Series race.  At Long Beach, Ricky and Jordan Taylor were victorious in the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship.

  • RTI S4 R2 Race 2 - Final laps of Race 2 de Tullio attacks Andersson and Green
    • Series News
  • Banner 1
    • Series News
  • Braden
    • Team News
  • Wyatt
    • Team News
  • S4R1 Race 1 Winner Alessandro de Tullio
    • Series News